Park, Wheeler and Turner Named NEWMAC All-Conference

Park, Wheeler and Turner Named NEWMAC All-Conference

May 1, 2008

BABSON PARK, Mass. - Sophomore Stewart Park, who developed a reputation last season as a constant threat on the basepaths, used his outstanding prowess in that regard to earn NEWMAC First Team All-Conference honors as recently announced by the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference. Seniors Kevin Wheeler and Jay Turner capped their league careers by earning second team accolades.

Park was batting .330 by the end of the conference tournament and was third in the nation with 30 steals in 34 attempts. Wheeler and Turner secured postseason honors for the first time in their careers, but both were highly deserving. Wheeler led the team in homeruns and runs scored while Turner pitched better than his numbers indicated, and continued to improve with each start during the spring.

As for the league's major awards, WPI junior Scott NcNee was named NEWMAC Player of the Year, while Adam Gingras of Wheaton was named Pitcher of the Year. Andrew Aizenstadt of Babson took home the Rookie of the Year award. Wheaton head coach Eric Podbelski was named the Coach of the Year and Springfield earned the NEWMAC Sportsmanship Award.

Park was the only sophomore to earn a spot on the all-conference teams.