Witz Nabs First Team All-Conference Honors

Witz Nabs First Team All-Conference Honors

May 3, 2006

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its All-Conference teams on Tuesday and the Engineers earned three selections after advancing to their first championship final appearance in league history. Junior Jason Witzberger led the way with the program's third First Team selection and first since 2003.

Senior Wayne Duggan and sophomore Kevin Wheeler also earned Second Team All-Conference citations to give MIT three overall selections for the third consecutive season. While Witzberger's honor was the second in a row for Tech's starting center fielder, Duggan became the third player in school history to earn All-Conference honors three times as he was a Second Team pick following the 2004 and 2005 campaigns.

Wheaton junior catcher Adam Laplante was named NEWMAC Player of the Year while Wheaton head coach Eric Podbelski was named NEWMAC Coach of the Year as the conference champions Lyons took two of the four major awards. Coast Guard senior pitcher Mike Jarbeau earned accolades as Pitcher of the Year while WPI freshman pitcher, Conor Fahey, earned Rookie of the Year honors. Laplante hit .346 with seven homers and 29 RBI's. Jarbeau, who tied the single-season school record and led the NEWMAC with 84 strikeouts was 6-3 with a 2.77 ERA. Fahey was 5-2 with a 2.54 ERA and was second in the league with 74 strikeouts.

Senior Kyle Zeller was not selected to the All-Conference units following the spring slate, thus being denied becoming the first player in MIT lore to receive All-Conference plaudits all four years.