Wayne Duggan and Kyle Zeller Earn All-New England Honors

Wayne Duggan and Kyle Zeller Earn All-New England Honors

May 17, 2005

MEDFORD, Mass. - Forty-nine players from 24 teams were named to the 2005 All-New England First, Second and Third teams it was announced by the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA), Tuesday afternoon. The Engineers garnered two selections as Wayne Duggan was named to the Second Team and Kyle Zeller secured a spot on the Third Team.


Duggan and Zeller's appointment marked the second time in team history that MIT has featured two players on the All-New England team. Peter Hintregger and Ian Sommerville completed the feat for the Engineers in 1993, while Joel Morales was the last Tech player to fill a spot on the all-star squad after getting the nod in 1996.


Trinity College senior Jeff Natate was named NEIBA Division III Player of the Year and Bantams skipper Bill Decker was tabbed Coach of the Year.


The Cardinal and Gray continue its season with its first appearance in the ECAC Championships since 1996. MIT topped the 20-win plateau for just the third time ever this season, and locked up the No. 5 seed for the regional tournament. The Engineers travel to Bridgewater on Friday, May, 20, where they will battle No. 4 Endicott College in the first round of the eight-team championship.


ECAC Championship Seeds

  1. Bridgewater State
  2. St. Joseph College
  3. Curry College
  4. Endicott College
  5. MIT
  6. Keene State
  7. Babson College
  8. Brandeis University