Turner and Witzberger Pick up Awards at 2006 Boston Park League Banquet

Turner and Witzberger Pick up Awards at 2006 Boston Park League Banquet

Nov. 14, 2006

RANDOLPH, Mass. - On November 10, The Boston Park League awarded junior Jay Turner with the Jean Yawkey/Boston Park League College Baseball Scholarship. Turner received his award at the League's Annual Alumni Reunion and Hall of Fame Dinner.

In his first year in the Park League as a member of the Stockyard Franchise, Turner posted a 4-2 record, had a sparkling 1.85 ERA, and gave up only 33 hits in 49 innings. Turner's record at MIT after two seasons as one of the Engineers' top starting pitchers is 10-3 with an ERA of 4.15. This past season, Turner picked up a win versus Worcester Polytechnic Institute in the NEWMAC Tournament that enabled MIT to advance to its first conference championship game. As a student, he carries a 4.0 GPA while in pursuit of an electrical engineering and computer science degree.

Senior captain Jason Witzberger also picked up a prestigious award at the Park League Banquet as he was presented a plaque for being named to the Park League First Team as an outfielder. This is the second straight year that Witzberger has copped this award and it was well deserved as it followed a summer in which he ranked near the top of the league in both batting average and stolen bases.

This first team selection is just one of many awards that have poured in for Witzberger over the past several months. In May, he was named to the 2006 ESPN The Magazine's Academic All-America baseball team, as selected by the College Sports Information Director's of America. This national honor followed his selection as a First Team All-Conference pick in the NEWMAC.

The Boston Park League was founded in 1929 by Bob Cusick, program director for the Boston Parks and Recreation Department. The League plays a 32 game regular season schedule and all games (except Sunday) are under the lights, beginning at 7:30 or 8:00 p.m. All fields are located in the City of Boston. Annually the league serves as an arena for the area's top amateur talent, both college players and former professionals.