Hollingsworth, Kates Highlight NEWMAC Post-season Award Winners

Hollingsworth, Kates Highlight NEWMAC Post-season Award Winners

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its men's basketball award winners on Tuesday and a pair of Engineers received prestigious individual recognition from the conference. Sophomore Noel Hollingsworth was named the NEWMAC Player of the Year, the second straight MIT player to take home that honor, while teammate Mitchell Kates was tabbed as the conference Rookie of the Year. Both players were also selected to the All-Conference squad, with Hollingsworth on the First Team and Kates garnering Second Team honors.

Hollingsworth has been a consistent force in the middle for MIT all year, averaging 20.5 points and 9.1 rebounds, both of which lead the NEWMAC. The sophomore also paces the league in field goal percentage and double-doubles while ranking third in blocked shots and fifth in minutes played. Hollingsworth tallied at least 30 points in five games this season, including a career-high 37 against Babson in January, the single highest scoring total in the NEWMAC on the season. The four time conference Player of the Week, Hollingsworth ranks in the top 100 of the country in scoring, rebounds, field goal percentage and blocked shots. Hollingsworth follows Jimmy Bartolotta, who captured Player of the Year accolades a year ago.

Kates has started every game at point guard for the Engineers as a freshman, averaging 13.3 points, 4.2 assists and a league-leading 2.2 steals per contest. Kates led all NEWMAC freshman in scoring, field goal percentage, assists and minutes played.

The remaining First Team All-Conference honorees were Clark's Mark Alexander and Brian Vayda, Matt Cavalieri of Springfield and WPI's Jeffrey Robinson.

Hollingsworth and Kates will look to lead the Cardinal and Gray in the upcoming NCAA Division III Tournament, as the Engineers will take on DeSales University on Friday, March 5 at 6:00 p.m. in an opening round game hosted by William Paterson University in Wayne, N.J. Tech is making its second straight post-season appearance, as MIT defeated Rhode Island College in the first round of last year's NCAA tournament, before falling to Farmingdale State in round two.