MIT Places Three on NEWMAC All-Conference Team

MIT Places Three on NEWMAC All-Conference Team

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – After capturing its second straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) tournament title, the MIT men's basketball team had three athletes selected to the first team all-conference, as announced on Wednesday. Senior Noel Hollingsworth (Salt Lake City, Utah) and juniors Mitchell Kates (Colts Neck, N.J.) and Will Tashman (Atherton, Calif.) were all named to the first team, the most selections of any team in the league. Head Coach Larry Anderson was also named the NEWMAC Coach of the Year.

Hollingsworth, who was the conference Player of the Year in 2010, garnered his second first team nod. The senior big man leads the team and is second in the league in scoring, averaging 17.0 points per game. He is also shooting a conference-best 55.1% from the field and is third in rebounds at 6.7 per game.

Kates, who has been a second team honoree in each of his first two seasons at MIT, is MIT's second-leading scorer at 13.2 per game. He leads the league in assists and steals and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NEWMAC tournament on Sunday, thanks in part to his 24-point performance in the conference championship game.

Tashman earns his second straight first team all-conference selection, after averaging 11.4 points and 9.2 rebounds a game as a junior. Tashman is the NEWMAC's leading rebounder and has the most assists among frontcourt players in the conference.

The Coach of the Year distinction is the third for Anderson in his career. He was first recognized in 2006 and again in 2009.

Alex Berthiaume of Springfield was selected as the NEWMAC Athlete of the Year and was also named to the first team. WPI's Matt Carr was the fifth and final first team pick.

The Engineers will travel to Hartwick College on Friday for the opening round of the NCAA Division III tournament. Tech will face Skidmore College (19-8) in the first round at 5:30 p.m. The Cardinal and Gray has earned four straight trips to the NCAA tournament, winning first round games in two of the past three seasons.