Anderson Named Finalist for National Coach of the Year

Anderson Named Finalist for National Coach of the Year

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – David H. Koch '62 Head Coach Larry Anderson has been named a finalist for the Glenn Robinson Division III Coach of the Year award, after leading his team to its most successful season in program history. Anderson's Engineers advanced to their first-ever Division III Final Four, won a program-record 29 games and captured its second straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) crown. The award recipient will be announced at the awards banquet on Friday, March 30 in New Orleans, site of the NCAA Division I men's basketball championship.

Other finalists include Jeff Brown of Middlebury College, Ken DeWeese of the University of Mary Hardin Baylor, David Hixon from Amherst College, Cabrini College's Marcus Kahn, Brian Lane of Transylvania University, Pat Miller, of the national champion University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Albertus Magnus College's Mitch Oliver, Matt Neil from Hope College and Ken Scalmanini of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.

MIT's outstanding 2011-12 campaign came to an end in the NCAA Division III national semifinals, as it lost to eventual national champion, Wisconsin-Whitewater, 71-56. With a final record of 29-2, Tech finished the year ranked No. 4 in the D3Hoops Top 25. Coach Anderson's squad ripped off 16 straight victories to start the season and, after an 80-68 setback to WPI, its only regular season loss, won 13 more in a row to advance to the Final Four.

Tech defeated Springfield College, 65-60, in the NEWMAC tournament final to win its third league title in four years and earn a fourth-straight berth into the NCAA playoffs. The Engineers picked up a 62-55 opening round win over Skidmore College before rolling to an 83-63 victory against Farmingdale State in round two. The Cardinal and Gray knocked off the College of Staten Island, 83-67, the following weekend and booked its ticket to Salem, Va. with a 69-54 win over host Franklin & Marshall College in the sectional final.

Anderson was selected as the NEWMAC Coach of the Year, the third such honor in his career. Senior Noel Hollingsworth (Salt Lake City, Utah) and junior Mitchell Kates (Colts Neck, N.J.) were all-region selections while Kates was also named to the fourth team All-America by

The Division III Coach of the Year award is named for legendary Franklin & Marshall coach, Glenn Robinson, who has over 800 career wins and is currently 12th on the all-time NCAA wins list. Robinson has led the Diplomats to the NCAA tournament 22 times, including Final Four appearances in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009.