Anderson and Bartolotta Highlight NEWMAC Postseason Awards

Anderson and Bartolotta Highlight NEWMAC Postseason Awards

March 4, 2009

WORCESTER, Mass. – After earning runner-up honors the previous two seasons, senior guard Jimmy Bartolotta was unanimously selected as the 2008-09 NEWMAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. Head coach Larry Anderson was named Coach of the Year for the second time, while senior captains Billy Johnson and Bradley Gampel also earned All-Conference plaudits.

For the second consecutive year, Bartolotta led the conference in scoring while ranking among the top five in every statistical category. He currently ranks second in the nation with an average of 27.6 points per game, while his career total of 2,225 points. Last week, Bartolotta was named ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America of the Year, and was also selected as a finalist for the Jostens Trophy.

Gampel and Johnson earned spots on the All-Conference Second Team to complete a postseason sweep for MIT’s tri-captains. Gampel is set the finish the season as the conference leader in assists and steals for the second consecutive year, while he ranks ninth in the nation with 6.9 assists per game. Gampel also ranks 17th in the nation in steals and has a 2.2 assist to turnover ratio.

Johnson, who was a two-time conference Player of the Week selection, finished the regular season ranked fourth in the NEWMAC in points, rebounds, and blocks. He scored a career-high 40 points in a win on Senior Day against Clark, while he averaged 20.5 points per game in league play.

Anderson earned Coach of the Year accolades for the second time in four seasons. His last honor followed the 2005-06 season in which MIT set a school record for wins (21). During the 2008-09 campaign, Anderson passed legendary head coach Jack Barry as the program’s all-time winningest coach.

MIT’s three postseason selections mark the first time that the Engineers have boasted three All-Conference performers in a single season.