NEWMAC Announces 2008-09 Winter Academic All-Conference Team

NEWMAC Announces 2008-09 Winter Academic All-Conference Team

March 20, 2009


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2008-09 NEWMAC Winter Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 25 honors.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 fall semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: men's and women's basketball and swimming and diving.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Clark secured the second-highest number of honorees with 16 selections, followed by WPI with 14. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

Men's Basketball
Jimmy Bartolotta
Patrick Sissman

Women's Basketball
Emily Prentice
Sally Simpson
Kristen Whaley
Alice Yeh
Clara Yuan

Men's Swimming and Diving
Zachary Cordero
Udit Garg
Daniel Jimenez
Daniel Klenk
Toomas Sepp
John Walk
Peter Wellings
Jeff Zhou

Women's Swimming and Diving
Lauren Cipicchio
Abigail Clark
Caroline DeBoer
Erika Erickson
Lauren Hernley
Sarah King
Diana LaScala-Gruenewald
Caroline Lowenthal
Rachel Price
Ellie Souganidis