MIT Lightweight's Second V8 takes 2nd in Petite Final at EARC Sprints

MIT Lightweight's Second V8 takes 2nd in Petite Final at EARC Sprints

WORCESTER, Mass. – MIT's men's lightweight crew team traveled to Lake Quinsigamond for the 2014 EARC Sprints Regatta on a sunny Sunday morning. Tech entered three crews in the event. Overall, the Engineers earned 12 points, finishing just behind Dartmouth College with its 13 points in the Jope Cup.

In the second of two heats, the Engineers' Varsity 8 crew came third with a time of 5:52.546, finishing just two seconds behind Columbia University in 5:50.517 and two seconds ahead of Navy with a 5:54.220, coming fifth overall and moving on to the final. MIT improved slightly on its time later on in the afternoon, finishing in sixth with a 5:52.180.

Tech's second Varsity 8 competed in the first of two heats, finishing in fourth place with its time of 6:11.760 and coming almost 20 seconds ahead of UPenn, which was fifth in 6:29.110. In the Petite Final, the Cardinal and Gray were second in 6:09.110, finishing closing behind Navy, who were first in 6:03.258.

The third Varsity 8 completed the course in fourth place out of a five-boat heat, clocking a 6:19.184 and finishing soon after Navy with its time of 6:13.473. Competing in the Petite Final, MIT came third in 6:19.728, coming in half a second after Dartmouth with its 6:18.382.

MIT will end the 2013-14 season next weekend when it travels to New Jersey to take part in the 118th annual IRA Regatta on Mercer Lake from Friday, May 30 through Sunday, June 1. 

C          Yoonjeong Kim
8          Tom Altmann
7          Luke Koblan
6          David Danko
5          Mycal Tucker
4          Chris Schlaepfer
3          Elezhan Zhakiya
2          Christopher Knapp
1          Johnathan Kongoletos

C          Ana Lo
8          Richard Chew
7          Michael Wu
6          Austin Hubbert
5          William Martin
4          Keanu Delgado
3          Peter Augusciak
2          Jesus Mathus
1          Berk Ozturk

C          Julian Ranz
8          Emilio Lamar
7          Jake Liguori
6          Matthew Fisher
5          Vincent Tjeng
4          Carlos Torres Quinones
3          Christian Richardson
2          Robert Hunt
1          Patrick Lowe