Lightweight Men Shine at Sunny Head of the Charles

Lightweight Men Shine at Sunny Head of the Charles

Oct. 20, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - MIT lightweights took to their home course for the 44th running of the Head of the Charles Regatta. The squad opened its season in three events compared to two in the previous two years owing, in large part, to the growing depth and strength of the squad.

In their inaugural race representing MIT in the Men’s Club Four on Saturday, the MIT freshmen lights finished strong in a time of 17:57.3 – good enough for 18th out of 43 entries while earning an automatic bid for next years event. The boat was comprised of coxswain Zach Hynes, Michael Lo at stroke, Steve Zipparo, Dan Fourie, and bowman Ale Ruiz.

On Sunday, the varsity squad took to the water and held their own in a traditionally strong field of lightweight oarsmen. The varsity four finished 10th in the Lightweight Four event in a time of 18:03.2. The four was led by Diana Wu in the coxswain seat, with Jameson Nash in stroke, then Johannes Schneider, Adam Bockelie and Tim Villabona in bow seat.

Next up was the varsity lightweight eight which finished 16th in a field of 21 clocking in at 15:48.5. Sophomore Emily Shao coxed the eight which was led by stroke Nick Murlo, followed by Ryan Flynn, Ryan Daspit, Aaron Blankstein, Richard Suarez, Keith Loebner, Sam Paul and Russell Ryan in the bow.

Next weekend the team travels to Princeton, N.J. for the Princeton Chase featuring both varsity and freshmen squads.