MIT Places 10th at IFA Championships

MIT Places 10th at IFA Championships

March 5, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - This past weekend, the MIT men's fencing team competed in the IFA Championship, the oldest collegiate championship in the country. The Engineers finished 10th out of 11 teams as all three weapons captured ninth place. Senior Trevor Chang was the lone Division III recipient of the Georges L. Cointe Award, which is given to an individual who excels in high-level competition with excellence in sportsmanship. He became the second fencer in the program's history to receive this accolade since MIT's initial honoree, Guy Pommares, was chosen in 1969-70. Athletes from Brown University, Columbia University, and Harvard University rounded out the remaining award winners.

The Cointe Award was created in 1962 to honor the memory of the longtime coach of Cornell University's team, Georges L. Cointe (1899-1961). The presentation of the trophy is made annually to the male and female fencer at the IFA Championships who best demonstrates the qualities of sportsmanship. The selection is made by the coaches of the member teams from among the fencers nominated by the competitors. The criteria include: superior fencing skills; well thought out and executed actions; showing a "will to win" through initiative, determination, drive, and aggressiveness; being courteous and gracious towards opponents and officials; knowing the rules and accepting officials' decisions; and is an example for others to follow.

Jason Chen recorded the highest individual finish for MIT as he took fourth place with six victories in foil. Sebastian Castro claimed 10th place in the "B" pool while Benjamin Switala placed 11th.

Chang's five wins powered him to a ranking of sixth in the top epee pool as Gabriel Chan recorded a 13th-place finish in the "B" pool. Lukas Schmitt and Matt Gethers represented the Engineers in the "C" pool, finishing eighth and 12th, respectively.

In the sabre "C" pool, Raymond Wu placed sixth with four victories. Rangarajan Nadadur picked up five wins for eighth place in the "B" pool while Namit Setia finished in 11th place in the top tier.

The field included Boston College, Brandeis University, Brown University, Columbia University, Harvard University, New York University, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Vassar College and Yale University.