Four Engineers Named to Hampshire Society by National Football Foundation

Four Engineers Named to Hampshire Society by National Football Foundation

DALLAS, Texas – Four members of the MIT football team were named to the 2013 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced today. Seniors Chris Dessonville (Omaha, Neb.), Ethan Peterson (Ruland, Vt.), Russell Spivak (Scarsdale, N.Y.) and Richard Yoon (Rochester Hills, Mich.) were all named to the prestigious academic honor.

Peterson was a finalist for the National Football Foundation's William V. Campbell Trophy that recognizes the best scholar-athlete in the nation. A first team All-New England Foootball Conference selection at guard this season, he was also named to the Capitol One Academic All-American team. A three-time Academic All-NEFC selection, he is a nuclear science and engineering major. Peterson was the leader of the MIT offensive line that that was among the national leaders in allowing the fewest sacks, with the Engineers allowing just nine sacks all season, tying for the best mark in the NEFC.

Majoring in management science, Spivak also earned Academic All-America honors after the 2012 season. A starter along the defensive front, Spivak was among the leaders on the line with 29 tackles. A management and political science major, he also tied for the team lead with 5.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage for a loss of 29 yards.

Dessonville, a computer science and engineering major, and Yoon, a mechanical engineering major, were both three-time Academic All-NEFC selections in their careers. Both were also key components of MIT special teams, with Yoon recording 10 tackles during the 2012 campaign.

The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society's seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.  MIT has had at least one representative on the team since 2008.