Football Lands 24 On the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Football Lands 24 On the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Westwood, Mass. (November 10) -- As selected by the conference office, a league-leading 24 members of the MIT football team were named to the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference Team for the 2017 season. Overall, 87 NEWMAC football student-athletes were honored this season.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

Below are the honorees for the 2017 season from MIT.

Jack Bernatchez
Matt Beveridge
Ben Boldt
Sam Cantrell
Austin Clark
Andrew DeNucci
Zach Duguid
Jack Dulsky
Eddy Garcia-Montes
Udgam Goyal
Andrew Griese
AJ Iversen
Ryan Kelly
Sean Kent
Logan Kluis
Kevin Lyons
Mitch Maisel
Coby Nettleton
Matt Nicolai
Kyle Pina
Riley Quinn
Will Roberts
Mitch Turley
Tyler Wasser

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. The Catholic University of America, Maine Maritime Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and Norwich University are associate members in the sport of football.

MIT, which is currently 7-2 overall and 4-1 in NEWMAC play, concludes the 2017 regular season on Saturday, November 11th as the Engineers travel to No. 21 ranked Springfield College for a Noon start.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.