Football Lands 21 On NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Football Lands 21 On NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team

Westwood, Mass. (November 8) -- The MIT football team has placed 21 student-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference Team, as announced by the conference office. Overall, 93 student-athletes were recognized across the league as MIT is tied with WPI for the second-most among members institutions.

Honorees must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2017 spring semester, achieved second-year academic status at his institution and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.

The Engineers have 12 repeat selections from 2017, along with eight student-athletes who were members of the NEFC All-Academic in 2016. Overall, seven student-athletes earned Academic All-Conference accolades for the first time this season.

Below is the full list of MIT selections.

Jack Bernatchez
Eric Bradford
Sam Cantrell
Cullen Clairmont
Andrew DeNucci
Jack Dulsky
Sam Gantman
Eddy Garcia-Montes
Udgam Goyal
Andrew Griese
Justen Holl
Spencer Hylen
AJ Iversen
Sean Kent
Kevin Lyons
Charles Magaw
Mitch Maisel
Riley Quinn
Will Roberts
Miguel Wagner
Mark Wright

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.