NEFC Announces All-Division Teams

NEFC Announces All-Division Teams

Nov. 14, 2006

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Football Conference (NEFC) announced its All-Division winners on Tuesday, and the Engineers filled two spots on the roster. Sophomore James Oleinik led the way with a First Team selection.

Oleinik earned NEFC Boyd Division First Team honors after anchoring an offensive line that contributed to the second-best passing attack in the league, while giving up the fourth-least sacks against (13) in the 16-team conference. Oleinik continues a trend of noteworthy blockers up front as he is the fifth offensive lineman to earn NEFC accolades since 1999 and the first since Matt Krueger in 2004.

Senior captain Phil Zakielarz secured NEFC Boyd Second Team honors after a strong second half to his final season. Zakielarz finished second on the team and 15th in the league in tackles per game (7.1). His 269 career tackles ranks fifth all-time at the Institute, while he set a program record in 2005 with 64 solo tackles.

Zakielarz earned Honorable Mention honors from the league in 2003 and 2005 and is just the fourth player in program history to earn postseason recognition from the NEFC three different years. Keith Battocchi '01, Brian Hoying '01 and Matt Ramirez '05 also accomplished the feat.