MIT Lands Four Players On NEFC All-Conference Teams

MIT Lands Four Players On NEFC All-Conference Teams

Nov. 16, 2004

WORCESTER, Mass. - Four MIT players were named to the New England Football Conference (NEFC) 2004 All-Conference teams, it was announced Monday afternoon. Senior tri-captain Matt Krueger and junior Matt Ramirez led the way with selections to the First Team.

Matt Krueger was MIT's only offensive player to secure postseason accolades from the league. Krueger served as the anchor for Tech's offensive line, and has been regarded as one of the best tackles in the league. Ramirez was the Institute's other First Team pick. Working on both sides of the ball as Tech's only reliable leg, Ramirez was tabbed as the Conference's premier punter a year after garnering Second Team honors at the same spot.

Junior Kevin Yurkewich was the heart and soul of MIT's gridiron unit, and was named to the Second Team. Yurkewich led the NEFC in total tackles, while also ranking in the top five for sacks and tackles for loss. Senior defensive back Mark Boudreau made his second appearance on the All-Conference squad as an honorable mention.

NEFC regular season champions, Curry College, dominated the league awards. The Colonels' Steve Nelson was named Coach of the Year, while senior linebacker Brian Robitialle was selected Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season. Running back Brenden Kavey,a junior from Bridgewater State, accepted honors for Offensive Player of the Year. The Hal Chalmers Scholar/Athlete of the Year award was presented to Westfield State College senior David Trueira. 

In 2002, the Engineers set a program record with eight players earning plaudits from the NEFC for their play.