MIT Men's Lacrosse Garners Pilgrim League Honors

Freshman Paul Orrson, junior Joel Santisteban, and senior Christopher Rullan
Freshman Paul Orrson, junior Joel Santisteban, and senior Christopher Rullan

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The MIT men's lacrosse team received three Pilgrim Lacrosse League All-Conference honors and seven Academic All-Conference accolades for the second year in a row. Senior Christopher Rullan (Wexford, Pa.) was voted to the All-Conference First Team while junior Joel Santisteban (Lawrence, N.Y.) and freshman Paul Orrson (Baltimore, Md.) earned spots on the Second Team.

A first-team pick in 2011, Rullan currently ranks ninth in the country in save percentage (.644) and 15th in saves per game (14.73). He paced the Pilgrim League in save percentage and saves (221), was second in goals against average (8.50), fourth in groundballs (99), and tied for seventh in caused turnovers (17). Rullan registered numerous entries in the MIT recordbook this season as he placed second in caused turnovers (17), fourth in groundballs, seventh in saves, and tied for ninth in save percentage. For his career, he stands second all-time in saves (785) and caused turnovers (37), third in groundballs (282), and seventh in goals against average (8.60) and save percentage (.613).

Orrson finished his rookie campaign leading the midfield in scoring while ranking second on the squad in goals (18) and points (23) and fifth in groundballs (32). Santisteban, who overcame injuries early in the season, returned as MIT's top defender and was charged with guarding the opposing team's best attacker. He contributed to a defense that currently ranks fourth in the country in man-down defense and was fourth on the team in caused turnovers with six.

Santisteban along with seniors Sean Burke (Centennial, Colo.) and Mike Gibson (Natick, Mass.) and junior Tim Wilczynski (Old Lyme, Conn.) received their second Pilgrim League Academic All-Conference selections of their careers. First-time honorees for the Engineers were junior Britt Cyr (Cincinnati, Ohio) and sophomores Jake Slonaker (West Windsor, N.J.) and Quantum Wei (Springfield, Va.). To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must achieve a grade point average of at least 4.1 on a 5.0 scale and are deemed a significant contributor by their coach.