Men’s Lacrosse Collects Program Record and League-High 18 NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Accolades

A team photo of the men's lacrosse team facing forward

Westwood, Mass. (May 2) – The MIT men's lacrosse team saw a program-record and conference-high 18 student-athletes earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference honors as announced by the league today. The list is comprised of 45 student-athletes who earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale or 4.35 on a 5.0 scale after the 2018 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the team for the entire season.

Seniors Mitchell Galer (Westlake Village, Calif.), Alexander Lynch (Roswell, Ga.), Carter Morgan (Locust Valley, N.Y.), Jake Stein (Vienna, Va.), and Aubrey Toland (Princeton, N.J.) received their third award while juniors Robert DeLaus (Andover, Mass.), Adam Gumbardo (Babylon, N.Y.), Jameson Kief (Plantsville, Conn.), Jonathan Monahemi (Great Neck, N.Y.), and Joe Vasile (Webster, N.Y.) were repeat honorees. Juniors Jack Strachan (Moresville, N.C.) and Aidan Westley (Palos Verdes, Calif.) along with sophomores Luke Gianni (Henderson, Nev.), Nicolas Gianni (Henderson, Nev.), Oliver Heins (Fair Haven, N.J.), Eric Pence (Portland, Ore.), Dillon Powell (Midlothian, Va.), and Hayden Stalter (Greenwich, N.Y.) made the list for the first time.

MIT (10-7, 5-2 NEWMAC) returns to action on Thursday, May 2 as the No. 3 seed of the NEWMAC Championship Tournament. The Engineers kick off their postseason by traveling to No. 2 Springfield College for a semifinal game that is scheduled for a 7:00 p.m. start. In the regular-season match up on April 20, MIT fell to the Pride, 16-15 in overtime.

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.