Men's Lacrosse Falls to Babson, 12-6

Men's Lacrosse Falls to Babson, 12-6

April 12, 2006

Box Score

CAMBRIDGE, MASS. - Eight first-half goals by Babson College propelled it to a 12-6 win over MIT in men's lacrosse action on Wednesday. Jonathan Stolmeier paced the Engineers (4-3, 2-2 Pilgrim) with four goals while Jason Wellemeyer tallied a game-high five points on four goals and an assist for the Beavers (2-7, 2-1 Pilgrim).

Babson wasted little time getting on the scoreboard as Mike O'Connell connected on a pass from Mike Maher within the first minute of play. Wellemeyer recorded the next two goals with O'Connell and Maher earning the assists. E.J. Peterson capped the first-period scoring when he converted a feed from Matt Harrington with 40 seconds left.

Tech's Tyler Sorba put his squad on the board with an unassisted extra-man goal at the 13:18 mark of the second quarter. The Beavers responded by notching the next three goals. Peterson registered back-to-back scores, the second with a man-advantage. Nick Fessenden ended the spurt with what proved to be the game-winning goal at 8:41. Less than a minute later, Stolmeier posted his first of four unassisted goals. The Wellemeyer-O'Connell connection returned with 43 seconds left in the half, giving Babson an 8-2 advantage at the intermission.

A pair of goals from Stolmeier during the first five minutes of the third quarter brought MIT within four (8-4). This was as close as it would get for the hosts as the Beavers went on another three-goal run. Fessenden posted an unassisted goal, followed by Harrington setting-up Wellemyer. O'Connell tallied the final goal of the frame at the 1:16 mark.

Brennan Sherry ended Tech's 17-minute scoring drought by capitalizing on a pass by Robert Baranowski. Stolmeier notched his final goal with 3:34 to go and Harrington closed the scoring a minute later. In net, Zach Brewer collected 12 saves for MIT while Max Owen made six stops for the Beavers.

The next game for MIT will be on Saturday, April 15 at 1:00 p.m. when it hosts Norwich University.