MIT Ousted by Babson in NEWMAC Quarterfinal

MIT Ousted by Babson in NEWMAC Quarterfinal

Nov. 1, 2006

Box Score

BABSON PARK, Mass. - The MIT men's soccer team's season came to an end on Wednesday afternoon, as it was defeated in a New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) quarterfinal by host Babson, 5-0. The loss means that the Engineers finish their 2006 campaign with an overall record of 6-11-0.

Babson (11-5-3) defeated MIT by the same score line during the regular season.

The hosts came out firing on all cylinders, out-shooting Tech by a margin of 10-3 in the first half. However, MIT's sophomore goalkeeper Tom Caldwell came up with five first half saves to keep the Engineers in the game.

Despite Caldwell's heroics, the Cardinal and Gray's resolve was broken once in the first half, when Tom Kowalski opened the scoring in the 37th minute with his first goal of the year. Bobby Ollari and Mark Dayvie chipped in with the assists.

The second half was remarkable in terms of the statistical discrepancy. Despite being outscored 4-0 in the final stanza, the Engineers actually out-shot their opponents, 11-8, including two shots on net by sophomore Andrew Bishara. However, Beavers' keeper Chris Necklas kept the net empty by making five stops.

Babson put the game away with two quick fire goals just after the restart. Justin Unger, who recorded a hat trick against MIT in the regular season, made it 2-0 in the 47th minute with an assist from Daniel Fogarty. An own goal widened the deficit to three just over a minute later.

Garrett Bates made it 4-0 in the 68th minute, assisted by Tim Winn, and Mark Dayvie rounded out the scoring in the 73rd minute when he was assisted by Juan Rodriguez.

Overall, Caldwell made six stops before being replaced by freshman Javier Duarte, who made two saves of his own, late in the match. Necklas made six stops in earning his eleventh shutout of the season.

No. 2 seeded Babson now moves on to the NEWMAC semifinal which will take place on Saturday, Nov. 4, at 1:30 p.m. at Wheaton. They will match up against the winner of the game between No. 3 seeded Clark and No. 6 seeded Springfield.