Men's Soccer Racks Up NEWMAC Accolades

Men's Soccer Racks Up NEWMAC Accolades

Nov. 11, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT men’s soccer team received six postseason selections as announced by the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) on Tuesday. The total was the highest for the Engineers since 2003 when they recorded eight awards.

Forward Zachary Kabelac was tabbed for Rookie of the Year honors, becoming the Cardinal and Gray’s fourth recipient. He currently ranks second on the squad in scoring, tallying 10 goals and eight assists for 28 points. Sophomore forward Christian Therkelsen and senior defender Nitin Perumbeti, both All-Conference Second-Team picks last year, joined Kabelac on the First Team. Therkelsen paces MIT’s attack with 15 goals, eight assists, and 38 points while Perumbeti anchors a defense with a 0.79 goals against average and that has surrendered 17 goals this season.

Senior goalkeeper Tom Caldwell and freshman midfielder Max Stein-Golenbock represented the Engineers on the All-Conference Second Team. Caldwell has compiled a record of 11-3-2 and an Institute-record nine shutouts this season as Stein-Golenbock bolstered MIT’s attack with two goals and four assists for eight points.

The Engineers will continue their season this weekend at the NCAA Division III Men’s Soccer Championship Tournament hosted by Amherst College, facing off with St. Lawrence University at 11:00 a.m. on Saturday, Nov. 15.