NEWMAC Announces 2008 Fall Academic All-Conference Team

NEWMAC Announces 2008 Fall Academic All-Conference Team

Nov. 13, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2008 NEWMAC Fall Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 51 honors.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 spring semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Fall sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: field hockey, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and women's volleyball.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

WPI secured the second-highest number of honorees with 37 selections, followed by Springfield with 32. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

Men's Cross Country
Tyler Abrams
Hemagiri Arumugam
Matt Bieniosek
Jack Bourbonnais
Yermie Cohen
Kevin Kleinguetl
Bill Phipps
Jake Ruzevick

Women's Cross Country
Adrienne Bolger
Jennifer Doyle
Elizabeth Finn
Alina Gatowski
Maria Monks
Jacqui Wentz

Field Hockey
Priscilla Army
Alona Birjiniuk
Katie Boothe
Keri Dixon
Jessica Oleinik
Danielle Smith

Men's Soccer
Andrew Bishara
Peter Bojo
Jason Bouhenguel
Tom Caldwell
Matt Cornachione
Josh Gafford
Tristan Kooistra
Alexander Mannion
Jacob Shapiro
Adam Talsma
Christian Therkelsen
Jason Zhu
Neil Zimmerman

Women's Soccer
Stephanie Brenman
Lauren Hernley
Katie Pesce
Julia Roberts
Sarah Smith
Monique Squiers
Liz Theurer
Sarah Vega
Jodie Wu

Women's Tennis
Sheena Bhalla
Leslie Hansen
Sonya Makhni
Emily Onufer
Karina Pikhart
Yi Wang

Women's Volleyball
Katrina Ellison
Alex May
Emily Obert