MIT Seeks Repeat, Heads Into Final Day with 98-Point Lead at NEWMACs

MIT Seeks Repeat, Heads Into Final Day with 98-Point Lead at NEWMACs

NORTON, Mass. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) continued to lead the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) men's swimming & diving championship through the second day, finishing 98 points ahead of second-place United States Coast Guard Academy on Saturday in Wheaton College's Balfour Natatorium. The Engineers have 715 points heading into the final day as they look to repeat, while the Bears have tallied 617. Third-place Springfield College has accumulated 434, while host Wheaton was the biggest mover, vaulting from seventh following Friday's competition into fourth place after Saturday. The last day of events begins on Sunday at 11:00 a.m.

After winning all five events on Friday, MIT captured four more on Saturday, while Coast Guard took a pair. Senior Rastislav Racz helped the 200-yard medley relay foursome to victory and a B cut for the NCAA Championship with a time of 1:32.37 while also taking home the top time in the 100-yard breaststroke, a B cut of 57.27. Joining Racz for the 200 medley relay were seniors Luke Cummings and senior Jeff Zhou and freshman Wyatt Ubellacker.

MIT sophomore Tim Stumbaugh and freshman Brendan Deveney went one-two in the 400-yard individual medley, turning in provisional NCAA times of 4:03.86 and 4:05.42, respectively. Engineers took the top three spots in the 100-yard butterfly, while the first five finishers all notched B cuts. Sophomore Matt Chapa won in 50.57 and was followed by classmate Brett Boval, junior Toomas Sepp, Springfield sophomore Brian Way and Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) sophomore Andrew Lybarger. During the trials, MIT's Ubellacker also notched a B cut.

Coast Guard junior Alexander Brown won the 200-yard freestyle, while the second- through fourth-place finishers came within 0.07 seconds of one another. Clark University sophomore Ryan Garr won the 100-yard backstroke in an NCAA provisional time of 50.76, while runner-up Stumbaugh and MIT freshman teammate Ron Rosenberg also both notched B cuts. Engineer sophomore Ryan TerBush reached a provisional standard during the trials. Beyond Racz's 100 breast win, Springfield senior Ryan Mackstutis, the event's runner up, joined third-place MIT sophomore David Parell in recording provisional times for NCAAs.

Springfield divers corralled the top two spots in the one-meter event, as junior Brian Sobel's 542.05 points surpassed an NCAA standard. Second-place senior teammate Matt Fitzgerald  and Babson College senior Aaron Paradis also recorded NCAA qualification marks.

In the final event, each of the top two 800 free relays earned B cuts, with Coast Guard's quartet winning in 6:52.26, just 0.50 seconds ahead of an MIT foursome. Brown, junior Eric Schwartz, sophomore Brian McGuiness and freshman Nicholas Poehler combined to earn the first-team all-conference honor for the Bears. Deveney joined junior Michael Dobson, sophomore Andrew Pierson and freshman Max Pruner during MIT's second-team all-league finish.

Team Standings
1. MIT - 715 points
2. Coast Guard Academy - 617 points
3. Springfield College - 445 points
4. Wheaton College - 224 points
5. WPI - 208 points
6. Clark University - 177 points
7. Babson College - 175 points

1st Place (All-NEWMAC 1st Team)
200 medley relay MIT 1:32.37 B
(Jeff Zhou, Rastislav Racz, Wyatt Ubellacker, Luke Cummings)
400 individual medley Tim Stumbaugh, MIT 4:03.86 B
100 butterfly Matt Chapa, MIT 50.57 B
200 freestyle Alexander Brown, Coast Guard 1:43.40
100 breaststroke Rastislav Racz, MIT 57.27 B
100 backstroke Ryan Garr, Clark 50.76 B
1M diving Brian Sobel, Springfield 542.05 A
800 freestyle relay Coast Guard 6:52.26 B
(Brian McGuiness, Alexander Brown, Eric Schwartz, Nicholas Poehler)

2nd Place (All-NEWMAC 2nd Team)
200 medley relay Coast Guard 1:35.21
(Timothy Berry, Matthew Odom, Daniel Alley, Johnson Knox)
400 individual medley Brendan Deveney, MIT 4:05.42 B
100 butterfly Brett Boval, MIT 50.72 B
200 freestyle Brian McGuiness, Coast Guard 1:43.81
100 breaststroke Ryan Mackstutis, Springfield 58.05 B
100 backstroke Tim Stumbaugh, MIT 52.13 B
1M diving Matt Fitzgerald, Springfield 466.05 A
800 freestyle relay MIT 6:52.76 B
(Brendan Deveney, Andrew Pierson, Max Pruner, Michael Dobson)

A - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying A standard (automatic)
B - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying B standard (provisional)