Men's Swimming and Diving Captures Third Straight NEWMAC Title

Men's Swimming and Diving Captures Third Straight NEWMAC Title

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In the final night of competition, MIT swept all six swimming events helping it capture its third consecutive New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Men's Swimming and Diving crown. With their sixth conference team championship, the Engineers tied the U.S. Coast Guard Academy's record for league titles. MIT touched the wall first 16 times out of 18 races en route to a total 1,153 points while Coast Guard finished as the runner-ups with a tally of 822. Springfield College rounded out the top three with a tally of 540.

At the conclusion of the session, MIT's Colby Dunn was named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. He registered first-place finishes in the 400 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 800 freestyle relay, the 100 freestyle, and the 400 freestyle relay. Dunn earned an automatic NCAA qualification standard in the 200 freestyle while provisionally qualifying four times. He also picked up points for the Engineers in the 50 freestyle courtesy of a third-place finish.

Brooks Farrar of Springfield College was honored as the NEWMAC Diver of the Year after earning a pair of All-Conference accolades. Farrar ranked first on the 1-meter board and just missed a second title by 1.4 points on the 3-meter board.

The Engineers received their second major award of the evening when Wyatt Ubellacker was tabbed for NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year honors. He placed first and earned NCAA "B" cuts in the 50 freestyle, 400 medley relay, 200 medley relay, 100 butterfly, and 400 freestyle relay. Ubellacker also captured third place in the 100 freestyle for his sixth NCAA provisional qualification.

In the first event of the night, MIT's Carlo Biedenharn just missed the NCAA "A" cut for the 1650 freestyle as he logged a time of 15:50.40 to secure first place. Coast Guard's Marco Tinari came in next and met the provisional qualifying standard by clocking in at 16:02.45.

MIT's Tim Stumbaugh paced the field in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:51.97 while Ryan Garr of Clark University clinched second place in 1:52.15. Both performances were NCAA "B" cuts.

Dunn and Craig Cheney provided MIT with its first All-Conference sweep of the night in the 100 freestyle. Dunn led the way with a NEWMAC meet record and NCAA "B" cut time of 45.40 as Cheney touched the wall .22 seconds later, yielding another "B" cut for the Engineers.

The 200 breaststroke championship final saw MIT's Michael Liao establish a new NEWMAC meet record with a time of 2:03.03 which was good for an NCAA provisional qualification. Coast Guard's Michael Carman also earned an NCAA "B" cut by finishing second in 2:06.16.

In the 200 butterfly, MIT's Toomas Sepp took down a pair of records set by Coast Guard's James Connor at the 2003 championship. Sepp clocked in at 1:05.15, establishing new meet and NEWMAC open records by 1.58 seconds while also earning an NCAA "A" cut. Timothy Wall added to the Engineers' All-Conference tally with his second-place finish and NCAA "B" cut time of 1:52.30.

On the 3-meter diving board, Springfield's Brian Sobel inched ahead of teammate Brooks Farrar on his final dive to win the event by 1.4 points. Sobel (570.50) and Farrar (569.10) both met the NCAA provisional qualification standard.

In the final event of the weekend, MIT established a new meet record in the 400 freestyle relay as the quartet of Dunn, Cheney, Tony Chen, and Ubellacker clocked in at 3:02.83 for an NCAA "B" cut. Coast Guard's Daniel Alley, Johnson Knox, Brian McGuiness, and Dan Beshoar collaborated for a second-place finish with a time of 3:05.66.

Final Team Standings

1. MIT 1153
2. U.S. Coast Guard Academy 822
3. Springfield College 540
4. Wheaton College 360
5. WPI 343
6. Clark University 242
7. Babson College 241

2011 NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Teams
(Event Winners Earn All-Conference First-Team Honors)

Event First Team Second Team
200 Freestyle Relay Coast Guard - 1:23.93
(Brian McGuiness, Johnson Knox, Daniel Alley, Dan Beshoar)
WPI - 1:35.50
(Lee Chiang, Mason Ruffing, Alford Green, Andrew Lybarger)
500 Freestyle Carlo Biedenharn (MIT) - 4:34.74 B Nick Cosenza (Coast Guard) - 4:35.29 B
200 Individual Medley Brendan Deveney (MIT) - 1:53.84 B ! Ryan TerBush (MIT) - 1:55.03
50 Freestyle Wyatt Ubellacker (MIT) - 20.85 B Johnson Knox (Coast Guard) - 20.98 B
1-Meter Diving Brooks Farrar (Springfield) - 524.00 B Brian Sobel (Springfield) - 521.45 B
400 Medley Relay MIT - 3:23.23 B
(Ryan TerBush, Michael Liao, Wyatt Ubellacker, Colby Dunn)
Coast Guard - 3:27.49
(Bryan Andrews, Michael Carman, Daniel Alley, Johnson Knox)
200 Medley Relay MIT - 1:31.85 B
(Ryan TerBush, Michael Liao, Wyatt Ubellacker, Craig Cheney)
Wheaton - 1:35.43
(Ben Sabol, Sam Dean-Lee, Zach Fichman Klein, Emerson Jenkins)
400 Individual Medley Brendan Deveney (MIT) - 4:02.59 B ! Tim Stumbaugh (MIT) - 4:05.61 B
100 Butterfly Wyatt Ubellacker (MIT) - 49.15 B ! Toomas Sepp (MIT) - 49.86 B
200 Freestyle Colby Dunn (MIT) - 1:39.69 A Tony Chen (MIT) - 1:42.45
100 Breaststroke Michael Liao (MIT) - 56.53 B David Parrell (MIT) - 58.09
100 Backstroke Ryan Garr (Clark) - 50.99 Josh Ernst (Springfield) - 51.69
800 Freestyle Relay MIT - 6:50.34 B !
(Brendan Deveney, Carlo Biedenharn, Andrew Pierson, Colby Dunn)
Springfield - 6:56.85
(Nolan Manley, Scott Peters, Jason Scotto, Josh Ernst)
1650 Freestyle Carlo Biedenharn (MIT) - 15:50.40 B Marco Tinari (Coast Guard) - 16:02.45 B
200 Backstroke Tim Stumbaugh (MIT) - 1:51.97 B Ryan Garr (Clark) - 1:52.15 B
100 Freestyle Colby Dunn (MIT) - 45.40 B Craig Cheney (MIT) - 45.62 B
200 Breaststroke Michael Liao (MIT) - 2:03.03 B ! Michael Carman (Coast Guard) - 2:06.16 B
200 Butterfly Toomas Sepp (MIT) - 1:50.15 A @ ! Timothy Wall (MIT) - 1:52.30 B
3-Meter Diving Brian Sobel (Springfield) - 570.50 B Brooks Farrar (Springfield) - 569.10 B
400 Freestyle Relay MIT - 3:02.83 B !
(Colby Dunn, Craig Cheney, Tony Chen, Wyatt Ubellacker)
Coast Guard - 3:05.66
(Daniel Alley, Johnson Knox, Brian McGuiness, Dan Beshoar)

A - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying A standard (automatic)
B - Denotes NCAA Division III National Championship qualifying B standard (provisional)
! – Denotes NEWMAC Meet Record
@ - Denotes NEWMAC Open Record