Ubellacker, Dunn Earn Top NEWMAC Honors

Ubellacker, Dunn Earn Top NEWMAC Honors

Cambridge, Mass. – MIT swimmers Wyatt Ubellacker and Colby Dunn and coach Dawn Dill have received end of the year honors from the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC). Ubellacker was named Swimmer of the Year, while Dunn was named Rookie of the Year on the men's side. Dill was honored as coach of the year for her work with the women's swim team.

Ubellacker, a sophomore, was honored with NEWMAC swimmer of the year accolades at the end of the NEWMAC championship meet.  Ubellacker placed first and earned NCAA "B" cuts in the 50 freestyle, 400 medley relay, 200 medley relay, 100 butterfly, and 400 freestyle relay. He also captured third place in the 100 freestyle for his sixth NCAA provisional qualification.

Dunn earned the third major award for the Engineers when he was named the NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. Dunn registered first-place finishes in the 400 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 800 freestyle relay, the 100 freestyle, and the 400 freestyle relay. He earned an automatic NCAA qualification standard in the 200 freestyle while provisionally qualifying four times. He also picked up points for the Engineers in the 50 freestyle courtesy of a third-place finish.

Dill lead the MIT women's swimming and diving team to its first ever NEWMAC Championship last weekend, ending a 10-year winning streak by the Springfield Pride. Dill also coached the men's team that won its third straight conference title, crushing the field at the Zesiger Pool.

This is Dill's fourth time being tabbed NEWMAC coach of the year since joining the Engineers in 2003. She was the women's coach of the year in 2005-06 and won back to back awards on the men's side the past two seasons.

2010-11 NEWMAC Swimming and Diving Awards

Men's Swimmer of the Year - Wyatt Ubellacker, MIT

Women's Swimmer of the Year - Kellie Pennington, Springfield

Men's Diver of the Year - Brooks Farrar, Springfield

Women's Diver of the Year - Eileen Garcia, Clark

Men's Rookie of the Year - Colby Dunn, MIT

Women's Rookie of the Year - Kellie Pennington, Springfield

Men's Swimming Coach of the Year - Paul Phillips, Clark

Women's Swimming Coach of the Year - Dawn Dill, MIT

Men's Diving Coach of the Year - Peter Avdoulos, Springfield

Women's Diving Coach of the Year - Laura O'Tell, Clark

Men's Sportsmanship Award - Clark

Women's Sportsmanship Award - Mount Holyoke