MIT Extends Advantage On Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

MIT Extends Advantage On Day Two of NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – As it did on the first night of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Swimming and Diving Championships, the No. 4 ranked MIT men's swimming and diving team turned in an impressive performance, getting wins in as the Engineers won six of seven events, including taking the top two spots in four of the five individual contests. The performance stretched MIT's lead over second place U.S. Coast Guard Academy to 344 points.

MIT started out the evening's festivities with a solid win in the 200 Medley Relay, edging out Coast Guard for the top spot by just over a second. The Engineers' team of senior Ryan TerBush (Smithtown, N.Y.), sophomore Michael Liao (Newport Beach, Calif.), junior Wyatt Ubellacker (Georgetown, Ky.) and sophomore Colby Dunn (Weston, Mass.) turned in an NCAA B cut time of 1:32.22 to win the title.

In the 400 IM, MIT that took home the win as junior Brendan Deveney (Newton, Conn.) broke his own NEWMAC meet record and turned in an NCAA B cut time of 4:01.05 to take the victory. MIT had a 1-2 finish in the event with senior Tim Stumbaugh (Loveland, Colo.) clocking a 4:05.64, also a B cut.

Senior Matt Chapa (Baytown, Texas) kept the MIT streak alive in the 100 Fly as he led a 1-2-3 Engineer finish with an effort of 50.24, just edging out Ubellacker's 50.39. Both times were NCAA B cuts. The Engineers had another 1-2 finish in the next event, the 200 Free, in which Dunn and sophomore Carlo Biedenharn (Loveland, Ohio) turned in NCAA B times of 1:40.86 and 1:41.31 respectively.

It was 1-2 again for MIT in the 100 Breast, as Liao took the win in a B cut time of 56.25, with senior David Parell (Lexington, Ky.) claiming the second position in 57.97. MIT's streak of wins came to a halt in the 100 Back, where Clark University's Ryan Garr edged out Stumbaugh, who finished second with a time of 51.33, an NCAA B cut standard.

As it did on Friday, MIT closed out the competition with a relay win, this time in the 800 Free Relay. The team of Deveney, Biedenharn, junior Max Pruner (Sioux Falls, S.D.) and Dunn led from the start, shattering the meet record by over seven seconds with their B cut time of 6:43.23.

MIT will be going for its fifth consecutive NEWMAC championship tomorrow evening. Preliminary heats will start at 10 a.m., with consolation and championship races starting at 6:30 p.m.