MIT Swimming & Diving Earns CSCAA Academic Accolades

MIT Swimming & Diving Earns CSCAA Academic Accolades

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The MIT men's and women's swimming and diving teams earned Scholar All-America Team honors for academic excellence during the spring of 2013, as announced by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). The CSCAA honors all college and university swimming and diving teams who have attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 (4.0 scale) or higher. Both squads have earned this honor every season since 2003-04.

With its combined GPA of 3.49, the MIT men's swimming and diving team appeared seventh on a list of 78 Division III programs. The women's team, with a grade point average of 3.50, was 21st of 136 teams.

In addition to the team awards, 14 men and 12 women were named CSCAA Individual Scholar All-Americans, the most MIT has ever had appear on the list. Twenty of these student-athletes were placed on the Scholar All-American First Team, which recognizes those who have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and qualified for and competed at the NCAA Championships. The remaining six received Scholar All-American Honorable Mention accolades, as they had achieved a GPA of 3.5 or higher and earned an NCAA B cut time standard but did not compete at the championship.

During the 2011-12 season, only six men and five women from MIT's teams were named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.

Men's First Team
Ben Bauchwitz
Bradford Jokubaitis
Brendan Deveney
Brendon Chiu
Craig Cheney
Kale Rogers
Luke Schlueter
Remy Mock
Thomas Norris
Tony Chen
Wyatt Ubellacker
Men's Honorable Mention
Max Pruner
Ron Rosenberg
Timothy Wall
Women's First Team
Anna Kokensparger
Christy Rogers
Elina Hu
Emmie Ryan
Kate Yu
Katelyn Rossick
Katie Siegel
Kristen Finney
Michelle Cunningham
Women's Honorable Mention
Jane He
Taylor Pearl
Jessica Wass