Swimming and Diving Teams Earn CSCAA Academic Accolades

Swimming and Diving Teams Earn CSCAA Academic Accolades

NORFOLK, Va. – The MIT men's and women's swimming and diving teams received Scholar All-America Team honors for academic excellence during the spring of 2015, as announced by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) on Tuesday. The CSCAA honors college and university swimming and diving teams who have attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Both squads have appeared on this list every season since 2003-04.

With its combined GPA of 3.56, the men's swimming and diving team ranked second among 99 qualifying Division III programs. The women's team, also carrying a 3.56 GPA, was 23rd of 152 teams.

In addition to the team awards, 14 men and 10 women were named CSCAA Individual Scholar All-Americans. The Engineers saw 18 student-athletes secure a spot on the Scholar All-America Team, which recognizes those who have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and qualified for and competed at the NCAA Championship. The remaining six received Scholar All-America honorable mention honors as they achieved a GPA of 3.5 or higher and earned an NCAA "B" cut time standard but did not compete at the championship.

Men's Scholar All-America
Ben Bauchwitz
Brendon Chiu
Sean Corcoran
Douglas Kogut
Bo Mattix
Scott Mayberry
Daryl Neubieser
Luke Schlueter
Joshua Tomazin

Men's Honorable Mention
Eric Dahlseng
Jeremy Ellison
Parker Greene
Brad Jokubaitis
Thomas Norris

Women's Scholar All-America
Jessica Chen
Margaret Guo
Veronika Jedryka
Sarah Osmulski
Emily Ryan
Mary Thielking
Amanda Wu
Lena Yang
Katherine Yu

Women's Honorable Mention
Emily Tsang