Fourteen Men’s Swimmers Bound For NCAA Division III Championship

Junior Justin Chiu
Junior Justin Chiu

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. (February 23) – After winning its ninth straight New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) crown last weekend, the MIT men's swimming and diving team will have 14 student-athletes represented at the 2016 NCAA Division III Championship, which is scheduled to take place at the Conroe ISD Natatorium in Shenandoah, Texas from March 15-18, 2017.

The NCAA Division III Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Committee announced the participants unofficially on Wednesday.

Juniors Jeremy Bogle (Weston, Mass.), Justin Chiu (Monterey, Calif.), Dougie Kogut (Glen Burnie, Md.) and Joshua Tomazin (Austin, Texas) will all be making their third appearance at the NCAA Division III Championship, while senior John Matthews (Yorktown, Va.), junior Dane Erickson (Naples, Fla.) and sophomores Brandon McKenzie (Brigantine, N.J.) and Daniel Smith (Lake Forest, Ill.) will be competing at nationals for the second time in their careers.

Junior William Arcand (Windsor, Va.) as well as freshmen Peter Crocker (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Bouke Edskes (Rockville, Md.), Tim Kralj (Woodinville, Md.), David Morejon (Humble, Texas) and Gabe Schneider (Santa Monica, Calif.) will all be competing on the national stage for the first time in their collegiate careers. For a list of events each student-athlete will be competing in at nationals, click here.

On top of the 14 individuals who will compete in Shenandoah in three weeks, all five MIT relay teams qualified for the championship competition and all are seeded within the top-eight in each event. The 200-medley relay is seeded second overall (1:29.04), the 400-medley relay is seeded third (3:16.93), both the 400-free relay (3:00.16) and the 800-free relay are seeded fifth (6:40.44) and the 200-free relay is seeded eighth (1:21.71).

Swimmers are allowed to compete in as many as three individual events at NCAA's overall. For events in which they were not selected as qualifiers, they need to have posted an NCAA "B" cut time over the course of the regular season.

The top-eight finishers in each event earn All-America honors, while ninth through 16th are named as honorable mention All-Americans.

On each of the four days of competition, trials will begin at 10:00 a.m. and finals will kick off at 6:00 p.m.

William Arcand – 200-medley relay
Jeremy Bogle – 100-free, 200-free relay, 400-free relay
Justin Chiu – 200-medley relay
Peter Crocker – 800-free relay
Bouke Edskes – 100-fly, 200-fly, 200-IM, 200-medley relay, 200-free relay, 400-medley relay, 400-free relay
Dane Erickson – 200-free relay
Dougie Kogut – 400-free relay
Tim Kralj – 200-fly
John Matthews – 800-free relay
Brandon McKenzie – 100-breast, 200-breast, 400-IM, 400-medley relay
David Morejon – 200-free, 800-free relay
Gabe Schneider – 200-back
Daniel Smith – 100-back, 400-medley relay, 800-free relay
Joshua Tomazin – 50-free, 200-medley relay, 200-free relay, 400-medley relay, 400-free relay

For the latest on MIT Athletics, follow the Engineers via social media on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.