No. 11 MIT Drops Coast Guard and Springfield

No. 11 MIT Drops Coast Guard and Springfield

Jan. 18, 2009

Complete Results

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Once again, MIT flexed its muscles in Zesiger Pool, improving to 6-0 on the season after netting decisive victories against conference foes Springfield and Coast Guard. The Engineers, who are ranked 11th in the latest national poll, defeated Springfield, 197.5-100.5, and Coast Guard, 179-117.

The Cardinal and Gray pulled away with a commanding performance near the end of the meet. First, Jeff Zhou split 52.45 to pace a 1-2-3-4 finish for the Engineers in the 100 fly, with Deke Hu, Brett Boval, and Toomas Sepp touching the wall next. Following the stunning win, Matt Chapa led a 1-2-3 sweep in the 200 IM. Chapa finished in 1:59.34 with freshmen Jim Griffin and Tim Stumbaugh grabbing second and third, respectively. Capping the meet with a strong win in the 400 free relay, Luke Cummings ignited the win with a lead-off split of 47.00, while Laurent Charpentier followed Peter Wellings and Andrew Pierson with an anchor split of 46.40.

Stumbaugh was sensational for MIT after delivering a tremendous effort on Saturday. The rookie out-dueled teammate Ryan TerBush to win the 100 back in 53.27 before coming back to nab a significant victory in the 200 back (1:56.27).

Despite Stumbaugh's solid performance, he wasn't the only MIT swimmer to collect two individual wins as Luke Cummings and Michael Dobson each accomplished the feat. Dobson swept the distance races, going 4:48.31 in the 500 and 10:03.27 in the 1000. Cummings handled the free sprints, pacing a 1-2 finish for MIT in both the 50 and 100. He split 21.38 to hold off Zhou in the 50, and finished just ahead of Laurent Charpentier in the 100 with a winning split of 47.04.

Charpentier picked up a win of his own earlier in the day after swimming 1:44.81 in the 200 free. He also sparked a blistering back end to the Engineers' winning 200 medley relay with a fly split of 22.9. Cummings anchored in 20.9, with Zhou and Rastslav Racz combining to finish in 1:36.46.

Rookie Matt Chapa won the 200 fly for the second consecutive day, splitting 1:57.49 to nab MIT's 12th event victory of the meet.