MIT Eyes NEWMAC Championship with Strong Tune-Up

MIT Eyes NEWMAC Championship with Strong Tune-Up

Feb. 7, 2009

Complete Results

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Senior Laurent Charpentier sparked a strong performance for the Engineers at the 2009 MIT Invitational, a non-scoring meet featuring NESCAC rivals Williams, Tufts, and Middlebury. Following another outstanding team effort, the nationally-ranked No. 11 Engineers now set their sights on the NEWMAC Championships.

With most of the lineup swimming off events during the two-day meet, Charpentier dazzled with victories in the 100 fly and 200 IM. Enjoying a strong performance on MIT Senior Day, Charpentier split 52.08 in the fly and 1:58.16 in the individual medley. He also authored a great swim to anchor the Engineers "B" unit to a second-place finish in the 400 medley relay as the Cardinal and Gray swept the first two places in the event.

The team comprised of Tim Stumbaugh, Rastislav Racz, Brett Boval, and Luke Cummings swam 3:33.18 to win the medley relay, with the second group finishing just back in 3:34.51. Cummings also set an Institute record in the 50 free, salvaging a DQ by the Engineers in the 200 free relay with a lead-off split of 20.76. Cummings' clip resulted in the 12th-fastest time in the nation and a solid NCAA "B" cut.

In addition to Charpentier, Stumbaugh also won two individual events. The rookie held off Williams' Thatcher Heumann to win the 400 IM in 4:17.93, while he led a 1-2 finish for MIT in the 200 back. Stumbaugh swam 1:56.21 to win the race, with fellow freshman Matt Chapa swimming 1:59.05.

"The team swam tough," remarked head coach Dawn Gerken. "I am continually impressed by how they step up to race each weekend even though we haven't let up in practice. We are way ahead of where we've ever been at this point in the season with both the men and women."

The Engineers boasted two 1-2 finishes during the weekend as rookie Alejandro Dos Reis swam 2:10.83 in the 200 breast to finish just ahead of senior Deke Hu.

Recognized on MIT Senior Day were Charpentier, Hu, Peter Wellings, Udit Garg, and Dan Klenk.