NEWMAC Announces 2007-08 Winter Academic All-Conference Team

NEWMAC Announces 2007-08 Winter Academic All-Conference Team

March 7, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2007-08 NEWMAC Winter Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 26 honors.

Honoress must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2007 fall semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Winter sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: men's and women's basketball and swimming and diving.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Clark secured the second-highest number of honorees with 15 selections, followed by Springfield with 12. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

Men's Basketball
Alex Bagley
Jimmy Bartolotta
Patrick Sissman
Hamidou Soumare

Women's Basketball
Alice Yeh
Clara Yuan

Men's Swimming and Diving
Christopher Carper
Zachary Cordero
Udit Garg
Daniel Klenk
Daniel Jimenez
Daniel Lopez-Braus
Peter Wellings
Jeff Zhou

Women's Swimming and Diving
Clara Bennett
Lauren Cipicchio
Abigail Clark
Erika Erickson
Kristen Felch
Doria Holbrook
Sarah King
Caroline Lowenthal
Jackie Nowicke
Rachel Price
Ellie Souganidis
Kaidi Wang