Four Engineers Selected to All-Conference Teams, Pang Named Player of the Year

Four Engineers Selected to All-Conference Teams, Pang Named Player of the Year

BABSON PARK, Mass. – After helping the Engineers capture their 12th straight conference title, MIT’s Kevin Pang was selected as 2010 Men’s Tennis Player of the Year by the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC). Larry Pang, Samuel Harmatz and Brian Oldfield were also recognized by the conference as First Team All-Conference selections.

Kevin Pang, the 2008 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year, was also a First Team All-Conference selection at No. 1 Singles. Notching his third All-Conference honors, the junior had been previously named First Team No. 3 singles and Second Team No. 2 doubles in 2008.

After receiving Rookie of the Year honors in 2009, Harmatz, a sophomore, also tallied his third All-Conference selection after being named First Team No. 4 singles, having been First Team No. 4 singles and First Team No. 3 doubles in 2009.

Two freshman Engineers were named to the First Team. Larry Pang (No. 3 singles) and Oldfield (No. 5 singles) rounded out the Cardinal and Gray’s All-Conference contingent.

After last weekend's championship tournament Oldfield was also named NEWMAC Player of the Week. In addition, he and teammate Andrew Cooper were named Team of the Week for their performance in the No. 3 doubles position.

2010 NEWMAC Men’s Tennis Awards 

Player of the Year
Kevin Pang, MIT

Rookie of the Year
Diego Angel, Clark

Coach of the Year
Lynn Miller, Wheaton 

Sportsmanship Award
Coast Guard Academy

First Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles -- Kevin Pang, MIT
No. 2 Singles – Nick Martin, Coast Guard / James Little, Wheaton
No. 3 Singles -- Larry Pang, MIT
No. 4 Singles -- Samuel Harmatz, MIT
No. 5 Singles -- Brian Oldfield, MIT
No. 6 Singles -- Harry Altman, Wheaton

No. 1 Doubles -- Greg Mitchell/Chris Pappe, Coast Guard
No. 2 Doubles -- Nick Martin/Blake Maurer, Coast Guard
No. 3 Doubles -- Harry Altman/Brian Krantz, Wheaton

Second Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles -- Greg Mitchell, Coast Guard
No. 2 Singles -- N/A
No. 3 Singles -- Kyle Hudgins, Wheaton
No. 4 Singles -- Blake Maurer, Coast Guard
No. 5 Singles -- Brian Lafayette, Babson
No. 6 Singles -- Doug Nickerson, Springfield

No. 1 Doubles -- Justin Albert/Bryan Lafayette, Babson
No. 2 Doubles -- James Little/Gregory Poulin, Wheaton
No. 3 Doubles -- Doug Nickerson/Zach O'Leary, Springfield