Men's Tennis Wins Third Straight Match

Men's Tennis Wins Third Straight Match

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – MIT men's tennis won its third match in as many days on Saturday, beating the Stevens Institute of Technology Ducks by an 8-1 margin. MIT swept the doubles matches and lost only at first singles at JB Carr Tennis Bubble.

MIT's Matthew Skalak and Ken Van Tilburg got the Engineers off to a good start with an 8-2 victory at No. 1 doubles over Stevens' Chris Rosensteel and Shota Tasaki. MIT freshman Curtis Wu and sophomore Larry Pang then upended Ducks' seniors Arik Zeevy and Jason Ringstad 8-5 at No. 2 doubles, before Edwin Zhang and Andrew Cooper completed the Engineers doubles sweep with an 8-1 triumph in the third slot.

Rosensteel would notch the Ducks' lone win of the day with a 7-5, 7-5 victory over Tilburg. Zhang bested Zeevy 6-1, 6-2 in second singles, while Pang earned a 7-5, 6-4 decision over Tasaki in No. 3 singles. MIT sophomore Brian Oldfield got a 6-2, 6-2 win over Ringstad in fourth singles, with Skalak and Cooper taking home triumphs over their Stevens counterparts in the fifth and sixth spots.

MIT sees its ledger improve to 3-1 and will have some well deserved time off before they host Bates College on March 12th. The Ducks of Stevens fell to 1-1 on the year and will embark on a Spring Break trip to California with matches against Amherst, Pomona, Occidental and Whittier.


MIT 8, Stevens 1
Mar 05, 2011 at Cambridge, Mass. (JB Carr Tennis Bubble)

Singles competition

1. Chris Rosensteel (SITM) def. Ken Van Tilburg (MIT) 7-5, 7-5

2. Edwin Zhang (MIT) def. Arik Zeevy (SITM) 6-1, 6-2

3. Larry Pang (MIT) def. Shota Tasaki (SITM) 7-5, 6-4

4. Brian Oldfield (MIT) def. Jason Ringstad (SITM) 6-2, 6-2

5. Matthew Skalak (MIT) def. Jay Lee (SITM) 1-6, 6-1, 10-6

6. Andrew Cooper (MIT) def. Lopburi Sasinin (SITM) 7-6, 6-1


Doubles competition

1. Ken Van Tilburg/Matthew Skalak (MIT) def. Chris Rosensteel/Shota Tasaki (SITM) 8-2

2. Larry Pang/Curtis Wu (MIT) def. Jason Ringstad/Arik Zeevy (SITM) 8-5

3. Edwin Zhang/Andrew Cooper (MIT) def. Jay Lee/Gregory Klose (SITM) 8-1

Parts of Release Courtesy of Stevens Institute of Techonology Sports Information Department