MIT Defeats Babson, Clinches Top Seed in NEWMAC Tournament

Junior Jeffrey Sperling
Junior Jeffrey Sperling

BABSON PARK, Mass. - At its final New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) match of the season, the MIT men's tennis team defeated Babson College by a score of 8-1. Tech improved to 11-4 on the season and 6-0 in league action, while the Beavers dipped to 9-7 and 5-1 in NEWMAC play. MIT, who has not dropped a conference match since 1996, earned the top seed in next week's conference tournament with the win and clinched the regular season title.

Tech was 3-0 after doubles, with senior Curtis Wu (Yorba Linda, Calif.) and sophomore Kevin Wang (Havertown, Pa.) having an 8-3 win over Roberto Perez and Victor Vu at No. 1 and freshman Kenny Gea (Irvine, Calif.) and sophomore Dennis Garcia (Corpus Christi, Texas) defeating Connor DeFiore and Davin Garcia at No. 3, 8-2. The match at No. 2, however, was a lot closer. Senior Edwin Zhang (Falls Church, Va.) and junior Eugene Oh (Alpharetta, Ga.) won by a score of 9-8 (8-3) over Salif Rahim and Isaac Thylen.

Babson's lone point of the day came at No. 3 singles, when Thylen won over Oh, 7-5. 7-5. In the top spot, Zhang had a 6-1, 4-1 victory over Perez and, at No. 2, Wang defeated Vu, 6-3, 6-2. Gea had to put up more of a fight against DeFiore at No. 4, falling in the first set, 4-6, before winning the second by a score of 6-3 and the third, 1-0 (10-8). Wu dropped his second set to Rahim, 2-6, but won the first and third by scores of 7-5, 6-1. At No. 6, junior Jeffrey Sperling (Los Angeles, Calif.) had a 6-4, 6-2 over Dom Wysolmerski.

MIT has just two more matches left before the NEWMAC Tournament, both of which will be played on the road. On Monday, April 21, the Engineers will face Brandeis University at 3:00 p.m. before traveling down the road to Tufts University for a 3:30 p.m. match the following day. Being the top seed in the conference, the Cardinal and Gray will host the NEWMAC Tournament on Saturday and Sunday, April 26-27. MIT will be playing for its 16th consecutive conference title.