NEWMAC All-Conference Honors Pour In for Men's Tennis

NEWMAC All-Conference Honors Pour In for Men's Tennis

April 30, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its 2008 Men's Tennis All-Conference Team on Tuesday, with MIT sweeping the individual awards. Head Coach Dave Hagymas received his third straight Coach of the Year honor as Kevin Pang was voted the Rookie of the Year. Eric Beren, the conference's 2005 Rookie of the Year, capped his career by earning Athlete of the Year plaudits, becoming the first person in the program's history to receive both awards.

Beren led off a First Team All-Conference Singles sweep, collecting his seventh overall First Team honor and first in the No. 1 position. He was also selected to the Second Team in the No. 1 doubles slot along with partner Ken Van Tilburg, who was picked for the First Team in the No. 2 singles spot. Pang captured the next First Team singles position and earned Second Team Doubles accolades with David Iba in the No. 2 slot. Peden Nichols and Jonathan Farm were both First-Team selections in singles and doubles while Ryan Castonia was picked to the First Team for the No. 6 singles position.

2008 NEWMAC Men's Tennis All-Conference Team and Award Winners

Athlete of the Year: Eric Beren, MIT
Rookie of the Year: Kevin Pang, MIT
Coach of the Year: Dave Hagymas, MIT
Sportsmanship Award: U.S. Coast Guard Academy

First Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles: Eric Beren, MIT
No. 2 Singles: Ken Van Tilburg, MIT
No. 3 Singles: Kevin Pang, MIT
No. 4 Singles: Peden Nichols, MIT
No. 5 Singles: Jonathan Farm, MIT
No. 6 Singles: Ryan Castonia

No. 1 Doubles: Alex Kamergorodsky and Brian Lafayette, Babson
No. 2 Doubles: Rahul Bala and Trevor Romanzi, Springfield
No. 3 Doubles: Peden Nichols and Jonathan Farm, MIT

Second Team All-Conference
No. 1 Singles: Alex Kamergorodsky, Babson
No. 2 Singles: Chris Pappe, Coast Guard
No. 3 Singles: Kyle Hudgins, Wheaton
No. 4 Singles: Trevor Romanzi, Springfield
No. 5 Singles: Austin Conti, Babson
No. 6 Singles: Edwin Lee, Babson

No. 1 Doubles: Eric Beren and Ken Van Tilburg, MIT
No. 2 Doubles: Kevin Pang and David Iba, MIT
No. 3 Doubles: Bobby Schlink and Tim Tunis, Springfield