Dave Hagymas Named NEWMAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year

Dave Hagymas Named NEWMAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year

May 1, 2007

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its men's tennis postseason awards on Tuesday. MIT, the conference regular season and tournament champion, collected eight awards with head coach Dave Hagymas earning Coach of the Year honors for the second straight season.

Thomas Dohlman was named to the Second Team in No. 1 singles and the First Team for No. 1 doubles with partner Eric Beren. The Engineers recorded First Team selections in the No. 2 through No. 5 singles slots, led by Beren, Mark Egan, Peden Nichols, and Melvin Makhni. The No. 2 doubles tandem of Egan and Nichols also collected First-Team accolades.

On Monday, the conference chose Beren as its Player of the Week and he also copped Doubles Team of the Week accolades with Dohlman. In the No. 2 singles slot, Beren defeated his foe from Babson, 6-1, 6-1 in the semifinals. He then registered a 6-0, 6-3 win over his Wheaton opponent in the finals which powered the Engineers to their ninth consecutive NEWMAC title. Dohlman and Beren defeated Babson's top pair, 8-2, in the semifinals. The No. 1 duo then posted the Engineers' lone doubles victory, an 8-4 decision, in the championship match against Wheaton.

MIT will continue its season this weekend at the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championship Regional hosted by Middlebury College. The host Panthers are the top seed in the five-team pool, followed by Amherst College, MIT, Ithaca College, and the University of Southern Maine.