Records Fall for Men’s Track & Field at NEICAAA Championship

Records Fall for Men’s Track & Field at NEICAAA Championship

BOSTON, Mass. - A week after capturing its 11th New England Division III Championship, the No. 12 ranked MIT men's track & field team took on the top teams across all Divisions at the New England Intercollegiate Amateur Athletic Association (NEICAAA) Championship hosted by Boston University. Stephen Morton set yet another Institute record, his sixth overall, and the Engineers also achieved three freshman records, en route to a 21st place finish among 34 teams from across Divisions One, Two and Three.

Morton's newest program standard came in the 200m, where he ran a time of 21.92 in the prelims while finishing ninth overall. Josh Duncavage also ran a personal best in that event with a time of 22.59.

Tech's 4x800 meter relay quartet, made up entirely of freshman, Patrick Marx, Dawit Zewdie, Logan Trimble and Gilbert O'Neil raced to a freshman record, finishing in 7:44.24, good for fourth place overall. All four runners posted personal bests in their respective legs.

Two more freshman records fell in the 500m and 1 mile runs. In his first race of the day, the 500 meters, Marx posted a time of 1:04.32, the second-fastest time in MIT history and best by a freshman. Marx finished sixth overall, tops among Division III competitors. Kyle Hannon also achieved a new freshman standard in the mile, finishing in seventh place with a time of 4:12.18. Hannon's time met the NCAA Provisional qualifying standard and is currently the 10th best mark in the country.

In the field events, Anthony McDonald achieved a personal best in the weight throw, with a 52-1.75 foot effort, finishing in 11th place. Teammate Chinedum Umachi was one spot ahead of him, reaching a distance of 52-2.50 feet. James Oleinik took home 12th place in the shot put with a distance of 48-1.75 feet.

The Engineers will take part in the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championship next weekend at Tufts University, beginning Friday, March 5 at 11:00 a.m.