MIT Tunes up for Post-Season at Spring Invite

MIT Tunes up for Post-Season at Spring Invite

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The No. 19 ranked MIT men’s track and field team received a number of impressive performances despite less than ideal weather during its annual Spring Invitational at the Steinbrenner track on Saturday. Although some athletes were held out in preparation for the upcoming Championship season, the Engineers were able to fare very well in a number of events, including the distance races, pole vault and throws.

Tech displayed great depth in the 800-meter race, as five runners finished in the top nine, led by Patrick Marx’s time of 1:53.94. Marx narrowly missed the NCAA Provisional qualifying cut by less than a second. Yermie Cohen ran well, reaching a new personal-best, with a 1:55.08 clip. Dawit Zewdie (1:57.44), Bildl Phipps (1:58.09) and Logan Daum (1:58.34) were also able to break the 2:00 minute mark.

Stephen Serene was the top finisher in the 3000-meter Steeplechase with a time of 10:01.97, over 30 seconds faster than the runner-up.

The Cardinal and Gray was also able to dominate the pole vault competition, with the top three finishers and nine of the 10 best marks. Greg Tao and Cyrus Vafadari each cleared 14-5.25 feet, with Tao taking first place based on attempts. Nathan Peterson followed in third with a vault of 13-11.25 feet.

James Oleinik won the shot put with a season-best toss of 50-3.25 feet, just a few inches shy of the NCAA provisional mark. Anthony McDonald (45-6.50) and Mitchell Kelly (43-3.00) completed the sweep of the top three positions. Kelly also had a solid effort in the discus with a 151-02 foot throw, almost 16 feet better than Oleinik’s runner-up mark.

Other event winners for MIT included Vladimir Sobes in the javelin (184-00 feet), Josh Duncavage at 200 meters (22.62 seconds), Matt Falk in the high jump (5-11.25) and Jackson Wirekoh (41-5.00) in the triple jump.

MIT will look to defend its New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) title next weekend for the 10th-straight time. Tech has won 10 of the 11 titles in NEWMAC history, including the past nine in a row. The meet, hosted by Springfield College, begins Saturday, April 24 at 11:00 a.m.