Lee Leads Engineers With Pair of Wins at Sean Collier Invite

Junior Benjamin Schreck
Junior Benjamin Schreck

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Hosting their only home competition of the 2014 outdoor season, No. 16 MIT men's track and field won five events at the inaugural Sean Collier Invitational. Highlighting the day for MIT was sophomore States Lee (Charlotte, N.C.), who took the top place in both the 200-meter dash, finishing in 22.21, and the 400-meter dash, crossing the line in 49.04. 

Also claiming first place finishes for the Engineers were junior Ricardo Paez (Ontario, Calif.), who won the 800-meter run with a season best time of 1:57.77, and freshman Rory Beyer (Mateo, Calif.) with his 9:39.61 in the 3000-meter steeplechase. Sophomore Derek Barnes (Coto De Caza, Calif.) joined Lee in the top three in the 400, finishing third in a time of 50.07.

In the 5000-meter run, sophomore Matthew Deyo (Manlius, N.Y.) claimed second place, crossing the line in 15:07.12. Senior Michael DuPlessis (Wantagh, N.Y.) finished third in the 100-meter dash with a final time of 11.09.

MIT's jumpers were led by sophomores Carrington Motley (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Angel Echevarria (Sacramento, Calif.), who finished 1-2 in the Triple Jump with distances of 48-03.50 and 45-03.00. Motley's performance moved him to second on the Engineers' Top-Ten list. In the Pole Vault, junior Benjamin Schreck (Sherman Oaks, Calif.) jumped 15-09.00 to finish second.

Junior Ken Cooper (Newport Beach, Calif.) completed the day with three runner-up finishes in the throwing events. His performance in the Shot Put of 51-02.25 was just 0.75 short of the winning throw by Ethan Knight of Boston University. Cooper also finished second in the Discus with a throw of 145-08, and in the Hammer Throw with a final toss of 187-06. Also finishing second, junior Harry Rein (Hingham, Mass.) earned the eighth place spot on the Engineers' Top-Ten performers list with a Javelin throw of 188-00.
MIT will next next compete the NEWMAC Championships on Saturday, April 27th at Mount Holyoke, where they will be competing for their 15th consecutive title.