Men's Track and Field Posts Solid Showing in Final Tune-Up Before Championship

Men's Track and Field Posts Solid Showing in Final Tune-Up Before Championship

Feb. 15, 2009 

Results (Valentine's Invitational)
Results (MIT Co-ed Invitational)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The nationally-ranked No. 10 MIT men’s track and field fared well over the weekend at the Valentine’s Invitational hosted by Boston University. A number of Tech runners set personal-records, running well in their final tune-up before next weekend’s Division III New England Championship.

The men’s distance medley relay team kicked things off on Friday night, as Richard Prevost, Khalil Dozier, Stephen Serene and Paul Welle combined to run a solid time of 10:24.70. In the mile, Yermie Cohen was able to set a personal-record of 4:13.34, the fourth-fastest time in MIT history.

Two runners ran individual bests in the 400 meters as Nick Leonard finished two laps of the track in 50.13 and Dozier was just behind with a time of 51.63. Dozier also hit a personal-best time 22.70 in the 200 meters later in the day. All-American Stephen Morton ran a season best in the 200m, finishing in 22.43. Dozier continued his busy day, leading off the 4x400 relay with a 51.80 split, teaming up with Matt Bieniosek, David Reshef and Nick Leonard en route to a team time of 3:23.96. In the 1000 meters, Bill Phipps (2:31.28) and Prevost (2:33.99) also set personal records.

Also on Saturday, MIT hosted its annual Coed Invitational as a number of Tech athletes hit personal bests. Freshman Brendan Ensor ran the 55m hurdles in 8.57, the best time in his brief collegiate career. Three Engineers, Chinedum Umachi (44-2.75 feet), Jonathan Garrity (38-1.25 feet) and Douglas Blake (37-4.50 feet), all set personal-records in the weight throw. Greg Tao had a strong all-around performance, clearing 14-8.75 feet to win the pole vault then long jumping 20-7.75 feet for a personal best.

The Cardinal and Grey will host next weekend’s Division III New England Championship, hoping to earn additional berths in the NCAA National Championship.