Engineers Defy Seed; Cruise to Eighth Consecutive NEWMAC Championship

Engineers Defy Seed; Cruise to Eighth Consecutive NEWMAC Championship

April 26, 2008

Complete Results

NORTHAMPTON, Mass. - MIT men's track and field secured seven individual victories and scored multiple points in 19-of-20 events en route to its eighth consecutive NEWMAC Championship. Stephen Morton was the only athlete in the meet to win two events as the super sophomore captured the top spot in the 100-meter dash and long jump.

Morton also split 22.64 to finish second in the 200-meter dash while the Engineers showcased their strength in every area. Junior James Oleinik shouldered the load for the MIT attack in the throwing events. The two-sport star captured the NEWMAC championship in the shot put with a toss of 48'10.25" while he also finished second in the discus throw with a mark of 137'9".

Sophomore Greg Tao delivered arguably the best highlight of the day as he paced a 1-2-3 sweep for MIT with an exceptional performance in the pole vault. Tao cleared a career-high 15'6.25" to earn the victory with Omari Stephens and Patrick Barragan finishing second and third, respectively. Stephens also finished second in the 110-meter hurdles, although he posted the fastest time in trials with a clip of 15.43.

As usual, the Engineers showcased their depth in the distance races. Rookies Paul Welle and Richard Prevost worked together in netting the first two places in the steeplechase. Welle split 9:34.34 and Prevost closed just back in 9:35.62. Sophomore Jack Bourbonnais proved to have the strongest kick at the end as he out-dueled two other competitors for a victory in the 10,000-meter run, and Hemagiri Arumugam and Brian Jacokes combined to give MIT 11 points in the 5000m after finishing third and fourth, respectively.

The Cardinal and Gray were just as dominant in the middle distances. After yielding the first three spots in the 800m, Matt Bieniosek, Bill Phipps, David Reshef and Kevin Kleinguetl swept the next four places. In the 1500m, Jake Ruzevick led the MIT charge with a third-place finish while Joseph Roy-Mayhew took fifth and Christopher Wong closed in sixth.