NEWMAC Announces 2009 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

NEWMAC Announces 2009 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

May 6, 2009

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2009 NEWMAC Spring Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 48 honors, and finishing the year with a total of 124 awards.

Honoress must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2008 fall semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Spring sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: baseball, women's crew, women's lacrosse, softball, men's tennis, and men's and women's outdoor track and field.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 41 selections, followed by WPI with 25. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

William Blackman
Cameron Brown
Brian Doyle
Daniel Hyatt
Thomas Phillips

Women's Lacrosse
Stephanie Brenman
Edith Reshef
Lauren Rodda
Lynne Tye

Maia Bageant
Keri Dixon
Kaitlyn McCartney
Jessica Oleinik
Aubrey Tatarowicz

Men's Tennis
Ryan Castonia
Jonathan Farm
Robert Habib
David Iba
Peden Nichols
Ken Van Tilburg

Men's Outdoor Track and Field
Hemagiri Arumugam
Matthew Bieniosek
Jack Bourbonnais
Yermie Cohen
Logan Daum
Jonathan Garrity
Andrew Musacchio
Adam Mustafa
William Phipps
Jake Ruzevick
Nathaniel Sharpe
Vladimir Sobes
Gregory Tao
Ian Tracy

Women's Outdoor Track and Field
Julie Andren
Adrienne Bolger
Hazel Briner
Jennifer Doyle
Erika Erickson
Caroline Figgatt
Elizabeth Finn
Karin Fisher
Alina Gatowski
Victoria Hsu
Emily Hwang
Margaret Leibovic
Amy Magnuson
Jacqueline Wentz