NEWMAC Announces Track and Field Championship Awards

NEWMAC Announces Track and Field Championship Awards

May 8, 2006

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) announced its track and field postseason awards last Wednesday. MIT senior Uzoma Orji was named the men's Athlete of the Year, while Wheaton College junior Jennifer Harlow repeated as the women's Athlete of the Year.

Orji swept competition in the shot put, discus, and hammer throw in the NEWMAC championships. He set a new meet record in the shot put (58-06.00) and was the only athlete to garner three event wins.

Wheaton displayed a solid core group of young talent on both the men's and women's teams. Freshman Jonathan Cunha was named the men's Rookie of the Year, and freshman Chizoba Ezeiwe took home the honor on the women's side.

Leading the Wheaton women to a championship win was head coach Paul Souza, who claimed his seventh Coach of the Year award. Coast Guard head coach Dan Rose, who led the Bears to a second place finish, earned the men's Coach of the Year award.

NEWMAC All-Conference First Team
Spencer Dudley - 10,000
Chris Bruce - 3,000 Steeplechase
Omari Stephens - Pole Vault
Thad Wozniak - Long Jump
Uzoma Orji - Shot Put, Discus, Hammer Throw

NEWMAC All-Conference Second Team
David Blau - 100, 200, 4x100 Relay
Jake Ruzevick - 1,500
Joseph Roy-Mayhew - 10,000
Kenny Rosche - 4x100 Relay
Thad Wozniak - 4x100 Relay
Demario Dayton - 4x100 Relay
Chris Bateman - Long Jump
Omari Stephens - Triple Jump