NEWMAC Announces 2008 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

NEWMAC Announces 2008 Spring Academic All-Conference Teams

May 8, 2008

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference recently announced the 2008 NEWMAC Spring Academic All-Conference Team. Once again, MIT reigned supreme, collecting a league-best 48 honors, and finishing the year with a total of 125 awards.

Honoress must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2007 fall semester, achieved a second year academic status at his or her institution, and been a member of a varsity team for the entire season.

Spring sports sponsored by the NEWMAC include: baseball, women's crew, women's lacrosse, softball, men's tennis, and men's and women's outdoor track and field.

The NEWMAC consists of 10 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

WPI and Springfield secured the second-highest number of honorees with 29 selections, followed by Mount Holyoke with 24. The following is a list of MIT's representatives on the NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Team:

Paul Groudas
Matthew Harrington
Thomas Phillips

Women's Lacrosse
Stephanie Brenman
Lily He
Laura Watson

Leah Bogsted
Amanda Jason
Holly Jeffrey
Lara Kostun
Aubrey Tatarowicz

Men's Tennis
Rajat Bhalla
Ryan Castonia
Jonathan Farm
David Iba
Vinith Misra
Peden Nichols
Michael Price

Men's Track and Field
Hemagiri Arumugam
Patrick Barragan
Matt Bieniosek
Jack Bourbonnais
Christopher Bruce
Yermie Cohen
David Fernholz
Tim Humpton
Brian Jacokes
James Oleinik
Stephen Oney
Bill Phipps
David Reshef
Joseph Roy-Mayhew
Jake Ruzevick
Nate Sharpe
Greg Tao
Christopher Wong

Women's Track and Field
Hana Adaniya
Juls Andren
Adrienne Bolger
Jennifer Doyle
Erika Erickson
Elizabeth Finn
Emily Hwang
Margaret Leibovic
Amy Magnuson
Sarah Rich
Leanne Veldhuis
Jacqui Wentz