NECVA Announces Postseason Honors

NECVA Announces Postseason Honors

April 14, 2009


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The MIT men's volleyball capped off another successful year with the announcement of the North East Collegiate Volleyball Association's (NECVA) postseason awards. Head coach Paul Dill was the inaugural recipient of the David Hildebrandt Rising Star Award, which is given in memory of the former Newbury College head coach who passed away last summer.

Beginning in 2009, the award is presented to a head or assistant coach, who best exemplifies the attributes for which Coach Hildebrandt were known. Dill was selected by the NECVA Executive Board from among a half dozen finalists.

"It is very humbling and quite an honor to receive this award honoring the memory of Dave, especially in its first year," Dill said. "It means quite a lot to me that my peers see me as someone, like Dave who has developed a consistent program and is passionate about furthering men's volleyball at the Division III level. I will certainly work hard to give back to the sport that has given so much to me, and hopefully continue to live up to the ideals for which this award stands."

Scott Pollom and Michael Demyttenaere were voted to the New England All-Division Second Team. Pollom was tabbed for his second honor while Demyttenaere was a first-time pick.

The Engineers paced the field in All-Academic Team selections with seven in addition to collecting the Team Academic Award. Pollom and Randolph Li earned their third honor as Demyttenaere, Eugene Jang, and Eric Reuland were repeat honorees. Malcolm Bean and Tim Lee rounded out the list with their first accolades.