MIT Water Polo Posts Top GPA in Country for Second Straight Year

MIT Water Polo Posts Top GPA in Country for Second Straight Year

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – For the second straight season, the MIT water polo team was honored for posting the highest cumulative grade point average of any team in the NCAA during the 2014 season, as announced by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPA) on Wednesday morning. In addition to the team recognition, 10 Engineers received All-Academic awards.

Tech's collective GPA of 3.672 ranked the Cardinal and Gray at the top of the 10-team list, ahead of St. Francis College with a 3.541, Brown University with a 3.48, Salem International University 3.24 and California Lutheran University with a GPA of 3.13. This is the fourth time MIT has posted the highest mark in the country four times since their 2005 campaign concluded.

Of the 10 student-athletes who were tabbed to the All-Academic team, four were given an outstanding distinction, which is the highest level of achievement that is given to the honorees with a GPA of 3.71 of higher. Those who fit that criterion were juniors Braden Knight (Fremont, Calif.), Kale Rogers (Newberg, Ore.) and Matthew Orton (Los Altos Hills, Calif.), and sophomore Patrick Everett (Ann Arbor, Mich.).

Receiving superior accolades for a GPA between 3.41 and 3.70 were senior Dylan Hallman (La Jolla, Calif.) and Jack Clark (Laguna Beach, Calif.), and sophomores Ian Zaun (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Kelly McGee (Pasadena, Calif.) and Zach Churukian (Menlo Park, Calif.). Sophomore Nolan Kruse (Orcutt, Calif.) received excellent honors for having a GPA between 3.20 and 3.40.

The 10 student-athletes were also named to the Collegeiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Men's Varsity Scholar-Athlete Team too, which is made up of 101 players. Tech also recorded the highest GPA in the league. 

Earlier this month, the ACWPC named two members of the MIT water polo team to its All-America teams. Rogers was selected to the second team, while junior Ory Tasman (Orlando, Fla.) was selected to the first team.