Engineers Place Three on ACWPC All-America Team

Engineers Place Three on ACWPC All-America Team

Feb. 3, 2009


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announced its 2008 All-America teams on Friday and MIT was honored with three recipients, including Mike Smith-Bronstein to the Second Team. Teammates Devin Lewis and John Preis were named Honorable Mention. The three selections are the most for the Cardinal and Grey since 2003.

Smith-Bronstein was MIT's leading scorer all season, tallying 58 goals in 26 games to become the Institute's all-time leading scorer. Smith-Bronstein's career total of 184 scores surpasses John Rogers' previous record of 174. In addition to the All-America nod, Smith-Bronstein was named to the CWPA All-North Division First Team as well as the Eastern Championship All-Tournament Team after scoring eight goals at the Championship.

Lewis, a Second-Team pick in 2007, garnered Honorable Mention honors this season. He is MIT's first back-to-back recipient since David Lohrey in 2003-04. The junior was second on the team with 47 markers this season and now stands third all-time in scoring at MIT with 147 career goals. Lewis was selected to the All-North Second Team as well as the Division III Eastern All-Tournament Squad earlier in the season.

Preis followed up his breakout rookie season with a solid sophomore campaign in which he was third on the team with 41 goals. The reigning CWPA Northern Division Rookie of the Year was named to the Division III Eastern All-Tournament First Team while helping the Engineers to a runner-up finish.

Josh Kratz of Johns Hopkins was named the ACWPC Division III Player of the Year while his coach Ted Bresnehan earned Coach of the Year honors.