Mike Smith-Bronstein Named to CWPA All-North Division First Team

Mike Smith-Bronstein Named to CWPA All-North Division First Team

Nov. 24, 2008


CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announced the 2008 All-North Division teams as part of the Eastern Championship Hall of Fame Banquet on Friday and MIT was honored with three recipients, including First team All-North selection Mike Smith-Bronstein. Teammate Devin Lewis earned a spot on the Second Team. Coach, Adam Foley, was named Coach of the Year, after guiding the Engineers to a fourth-place showing at the Northern Division Championship.

Smith-Bronstein was MIT's leading scorer all season, tallying 58 goals in 26 games to become the Institute's all-time leading scorer. Smith-Bronstein's career total of 184 scores surpasses John Rogers' previous record of 174. In addition to the All-North selection, Smith-Bronstein was named to the Eastern Championship All-Tournament Team after scoring eight goals in three games this past weekend.

Lewis garnered Second Team All-North honors after being named to the First Team in 2007. The junior was second on the team with 47 markers this season and now stands third all-time in scoring at MIT with 147 career goals. In Sunday's seventh-place game versus Iona, Lewis scored four times to help spark the Engineers to a 10-9 win and secure their best showing at the Eastern Championship since 2003. Lewis was selected to the Division III Eastern All-Tournament team earlier in the season as well.

In just his second season coaching the Cardinal and Gray, Foley helped his team overcome some early season struggles to finish fourth in the Northern Division. The Engineers’ 10-16 mark on the year included a runner-up showing at the Division III Eastern Championship and this weekend’s seventh-place result at the Eastern Championship.

Nemanja Pucarevic of Saint Francis was named the Northern Division MVP while Brown freshman Toby Espinosa received the Rookie of the Year award.